Nature’s Library progress

Figure 1: Something fishy is going on in this cabinet...

Figure 1: Something fishy is going on in this cabinet…

Last Thursday I returned to Manchester to help with the new Nature’s Library gallery.  How exciting!  A lot of progress has been made; the mounts are now finished and the cases are almost ready for the objects to be put in.  I helped out with measuring out where objects will go so they can be appropriately positioned.  This was where all the work I did previously with Kate paid off (see blog post) and we could accurately map out the footprint of the objects.

I also helped out with cleaning and tidying as there is certainly a lot of that that will need to be done before the gallery is due to open.  I also helped David put these skulls on display:

Figure 2: The cases are looking brilliant; I'm particularly impressed by the lighting (as evident here!)

Figure 2: The cases are looking brilliant; I’m particularly impressed by the lighting (as evident here!)

So, although my traineeship has officially finished, I’m hoping there’ll be more opportunities to help with the new Nature’s Library gallery before it officially opens on the 26 April.

 

About Trainee Curator

I will be writing a blog about the next twelve months spent as a trainee biological curator based at Manchester Museum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

