Last day of traineeship…

Figure 1: These museum-themed cakes were baked for Comic Relief.

Figure 1: These museum-themed cakes were baked for Comic Relief.

Sadly, this is the last day of my traineeship.  Hopefully I will be coming back to help with the installation of Nature’s Library but this is my ‘official’ last day.  Yesterday’s ‘bake off’ of wonderful museum-themed cakes and treats in aid of Comic Relief (raising over £100) has reminded me what I’ve enjoyed most about being in Manchester this past year:

  • The people: everyone has been so friendly and good to me and I feel I’ve made some great contacts for the future.
  • The allotment: I’ve really enjoyed my work with the ‘allotment crew’ on a Friday and will miss my involvement immensely.
  • The Big Saturdays: I’ve really enjoyed interacting with visitors on Big Saturdays and other public events.
  • The baking (see above): always a great standard of cakes!
  • The volunteers: The volunteers are great at Manchester!
  • The collections: Working with the collections at Manchester has been a unique opportunity.

One thing I won’t miss are the trains (shame on you Northern Rail).

But aside from that I’ve had a brilliant year.  Hoepfully the blog will continue and I’ll keep you posted on future developments.  Thanks for reading!

Figure 2: Kate's well case cake was both delicious and amazing!

Figure 2: Kate’s well case cake was both delicious and amazing!

About Trainee Curator

I will be writing a blog about the next twelve months spent as a trainee biological curator based at Manchester Museum.
This entry was posted in Trainee's diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last day of traineeship…

  1. What will you be doing now, Andrew? I hope you have a job to go to. All the best.

Leave a Reply

