NatSCA conference 2013

Figure 1: My talk with atmospheric lighting and giant me!

Figure 1: My talk with atmospheric lighting and giant me!

I spent Thursday and Friday last week at the NatSCA conference 2013.  NatSCA, who part-fund my traineeship, are a great organisation facilitating the transfer of skills and expertise throughout the natural sciences curatorial community.  This year’s conference was in York at the Yorkshire museum.

Figure 2: The panel discuss collectionn reviews.

Figure 2: The panel discuss collectionn reviews.

Kirsty (my fellow trainee based at Leeds) and I gave a talk on our experiences during the traineeship.  It was well-received, and we both had a brilliant time meeting up with some familiar faces as well as meeting some new ones.  The talks were varied and intesting and I particulalry enjoyed the panel discussion about collection reviews and the tour around the museum gardens.  There was also an intersting talk about how York’s egg collection is helping current zooarchaeological research.

Figure 3: The Yorkshire museum is just to the right in this picture of the museum gardens.

Figure 3: The Yorkshire museum is just to the right in this picture of the museum gardens.

I’ve appreciated how wlecome I’ve been made by the NatSCA community and hope to continue to be a member for many years to come.

About Trainee Curator

I will be writing a blog about the next twelve months spent as a trainee biological curator based at Manchester Museum.
This entry was posted in Trainee's diary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NatSCA conference 2013

  1. Pingback: NatSCA conference 2013 | Palaeo Manchester

Leave a Reply

